Scottish Solo Sailing: The premier dinghy class for Scotland “Scotland’s premier dinghy class”

Scottish Solo Dinghy Site and all contents © Simon Richards 2018.  E+O Excepted


Scottish SOLO Dinghy Sailing

The Scottish Solo Championship is an annual event normally held over two days. It consists of 6 races, with five to count. Trophies are awarded for Overall Champion, Veteran (aged 50-59), Master (aged 60+). Other prizes may be awarded at the host venue clubs discretion.

The Scottish Traveller Series

Scottish Traveller events are typically one day events to allow people to keep costs down. The races (typically 8 in a year) are held at a variety of sailing clubs across Scotland. Venues are usually chosen to give a variety of Sea, River and Loch sailing.

The series usually consists of a number of one day events, 4 events to count for eligibility to series. Then best 4 pairs of event scores to count for travellers result.

Normally there are three races with 1 discard to give an event score. Two races must be sailed for the event to count to the travellers. Prizes are at the discretion of hosting club. The latest event guidelines and scoring rules can be found here.

As well as the Traveller series there are races for specific trophies across the year (See below).

In hac habitasse

Scottish Solo Championship

The Ben Ledi Trophy

This is an annual event of a minimum of 2 races, ALL races to count. The winner is awarded the Ben Ledi Trophy and must be a resident in Scotland and member of NSCA. Ben Ledi events can also be part of the Traveller series

Ben Ledi Trophy Deed

Find out more about Traveller race venue clubs via the button below.

Traveller Venues

Venues and Contacts

To help people get into  Solo Traveller racing, find out about our demo boat via the button below.

Scottish Solo Demo Boat

Demo Boat

Wooden boat trophy, open to all wooden decked boats.


Travelling Trophy; awarded at discretion of Solo class, to person most travelled and class promotion.

Other Trophies

A gold fleet member is someone who is in top 25% at any event of this and/or the previous year. And/Or has a final series result in the top 25% of the eligible entrants from the previous 5 years .

Gold Fleet